Real Friends

#ad
First Second #ad - . Shannon and adrienne have been best friends ever since they were little. But one day, adrienne starts hanging out with Jen, the most popular girl in class and the leader of a circle of friends called The Group. Everyone in the group wants to be Jen's #1, and some girls would do anything to stay on top. Will she and adrienne stay friends? can she stand up for herself? and is she in the group―or out?parents magazine Best Graphic Novel of 2017A School Library Journal Best Book of 2017A Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2017A 2017 Booklist Youth Editors' ChoiceA 2018 YALSA Great Graphic Novel First second.

Fresh and funny. New york times book reviewnewbery honor author shannon hale and New York Times bestselling illustrator LeUyen Pham join forces in this graphic memoir about how hard it is to find your real friends―and why it's worth the journey. When best friends are not forever. Even if it means bullying others.

Real Friends #ad - Now every day is like a roller coaster for Shannon.

#ad



Invisible Emmie

#ad
Balzer + Bray #ad - Holm, creator of the internationally syndicated, Invisible Emmie is a humorous and surprising debut graphic novel by Terri Libenson, Reuben Award-winning comic strip The Pajama Diaries. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jennifer L. All the crushes, boredom, humiliations, and drama of middle school are compressed into one surprising day in this extraordinary novel.

And don't miss terri Libenson's next book, Positively Izzy! Balzer bray. This is the story of two totally different girls—quiet, artistic Emmiepopular, athletic Katie—and how their lives unexpectedly intersect one day, shy, outgoing, when an embarrassing note falls into the wrong hands.

#ad



Positively Izzy

#ad
Balzer + Bray #ad - But she wants people to see there’s more to her than just a report card full of As. At the same time, she wishes her mom would accept her the way she is and stop bugging her to “break out of her shell” and join drama club. The girls’ lives converge in unexpected ways on the day of a school talent show, which turns out to be even more dramatic than either Bri or Izzy could have imagined.

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Jennifer Holm, and Victoria Jamieson. Middle school is all about labels. Izzy is the dreamer. Award-winning comics creator and author of the bestselling Invisible Emmie Terri Libenson returns with a companion graphic novel that captures the drama, angst, and humor of middle-school life.

Positively Izzy #ad - . The downside? she can never quite focus enough to get her schoolwork done. There’s nothing Izzy loves more than acting in skits and making up funny stories. Bri is the brain. Balzer bray.

#ad



Roller Girl

#ad
Dial Books #ad - The newbery honor award winner and new york times bestseller roller girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile!  For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole.

But after astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. In this graphic novel debut that earned a newbery Honor and five starred reviews, perseverance, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, and girl power! Balzer bray.

Roller Girl #ad - As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout and junior high! draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, and middle school… in short, a lost friendship, strong enough to be a roller girl. Dial Books. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship.

#ad



Awkward Berrybrook Middle School

#ad
Yen Press #ad - Yen Press. But when she trips into a quiet boy in the hall, she's already broken the first rule, Jaime Thompson, and the mean kids start calling her the "nerder girlfriend. How does she handle this crisis? by shoving poor Jaime and running away!Falling back on rule two and surrounding herself with new friends in the art club, Peppi still can't help feeling ashamed about the way she treated Jaime.

Cardinal rule #1 for surviving school: Don't get noticed by the mean kids. Cardinal rule #2 for surviving school: Seek out groups with similar interests and join them. On her first day at her new school, Penelope--Peppi--Torres reminds herself of these basics. Things are already awkward enough between the two, but to make matters worse, he's a member of her own club's archrivals--the science club! And when the two clubs go to war, Peppi realizes that sometimes you have to break the rules to survive middle school! Balzer bray.

Awkward Berrybrook Middle School #ad - Dial Books.

#ad



Drama

#ad
Graphix #ad - And when two cute brothers enter the picture, things get even crazier!   Balzer bray. Dial Books. From raina telgemeier, the #1 new york Times bestselling, multiple Eisner Award-winning author of Smile and Sisters! Callie loves theater. But how can she, ticket sales are down, when she doesn't know much about carpentry, and the crew members are having trouble working together? Not to mention the onstage AND offstage drama that occurs once the actors are chosen.

And while she would totally try out for her middle school's production of Moon over Mississippi, she can't really sing. Yen Press. Instead she's the set designer for the drama department's stage crew, and this year she's determined to create a set worthy of Broadway on a middle-school budget. Graphix.

#ad



Ghosts

#ad
GRAPHIX #ad - Dial Books. Graphix. Graphix. Maya is determined to meet one, but Cat wants nothing to do with them. Cat isn't happy about leaving her friends for Bahía de la Luna, but Maya has cystic fibrosis and will benefit from the cool, salty air that blows in from the sea. As the girls explore their new home, a neighbor lets them in on a secret: There are ghosts in Bahía de la Luna.

Balzer bray. As the time of year when ghosts reunite with their loved ones approaches, Cat must figure out how to put aside her fears for her sister's sake -- and her own. Raina telgemeier has masterfully created a moving and insightful story about the power of family and friendship, and how it gives us the courage to do what we never thought possible.

Ghosts #ad - . Catrina and her family are moving to the coast of Northern California because her little sister, Maya, is sick. Yen Press.

#ad



Brave Berrybrook Middle School

#ad
Yen Press #ad - Graphix. Dial Books. Yen Press. Yen Press. The charming world of berrybrook middle school gets a little bigger in this follow-up to Svetlana Chmakova's Awkward! Still on high alert about the looming threat of sunspots, Jensen of the art club reaches out to the school newspaper to spread his message. As the bullying escalates, will Jensen be left to face this fate worse than sunspots entirely on his own? Available in softcover and hardcover editions.

But when jenny and akilah discover that berrybrook's resident bullies have set their sights on Jensen, the girls are determined to use their positions on the school paper to shine a light on the issue. When a different incident causes a rift in their friendship, though, working together for the sake of the story may be impossible.

Brave Berrybrook Middle School #ad - Balzer bray. Graphix.

#ad



El Deafo

#ad
Harry N. Abrams #ad - Yen Press. Graphix. Graphix. After some trouble, she is finally able to harness the power of the Phonic Ear and become “El Deafo, Listener for All. And more importantly, declare a place for herself in the world and find the friend she’s longed for. Praise for el deafostarred reviews "a standout autobiography.

New york times bestseller a 2015 Newbery Honor Book Going to school and making new friends can be tough. Someone readers will enjoy getting to know. Publishers weekly, starred review "Worthy of a superhero. Kirkus reviews, starred review "this empowering autobiographical story belongs right next to Raina Telgemeier’s Smile 2011 and Liz Prince’s Tomboy.

El Deafo #ad - Booklist Balzer bray. Author/illustrator Cece Bell chronicles her hearing loss at a young age and her experiences. Yen Press. But going to school and making new friends while wearing a bulky hearing aid strapped to your chest? That requires superpowers! In this funny, poignant graphic novel memoir, author/illustrator Cece Bell chronicles her hearing loss at a young age and her subsequent experiences with the Phonic Ear, a very powerful—and very awkward—hearing aid.

Dial Books. She really just wants to fit in and find a true friend, someone who appreciates her as she is. Her phonic ear is a very powerful hearing aid that grants her aoesuperpowersa.

#ad



Nightbird

#ad
Yearling #ad - Dial Books. Graphix. After all, her town is rumored to hide a monster. Her phonic ear is a very powerful hearing aid that grants her aoesuperpowersa. It’s time to break the spell. Praisenominated for: the great stone face award nh rebecca caudill Young Readers’ Book Award Illinois The Black-Eyed Susan Book Award Maryland “Hoffman reminds us that there are secrets everywhere.

. But this summer, everything will change when the red moon rises. Nightbird soars. The new york times “alice hoffman has a gift for melding magic and realism in a way that makes nearly anything seem possible. Shelf awareness, starred “The mix of romance and magic is irresistible. Kirkus reviewswhat other authors are Saying“I love the way Alice Hoffman creates the most ordinary people and then turns their lives magical.

Nightbird #ad - Paperback. Author/illustrator Cece Bell chronicles her hearing loss at a young age and her experiences. Yen Press. And two hundred years ago, a witch placed a curse on Twig’s family that was meant to last forever.

#ad



Funny Girl: Funniest. Stories. Ever.

#ad
Puffin Books #ad - Yen Press. Yearling Books. Funny girl isn’t just an anthology: it’s a cause, a mission, a movement. Her phonic ear is a very powerful hearing aid that grants her aoesuperpowersa. Graphix. Either way, you'll definitely laugh. What could be funnier than you? tell your future with mad Libs, discover your Chinese Zodiac sign with Lenore Look, and learn the best tricks of the comedy trade from professional humorists like Adrianne Chalepah and Delaney Yeager.

What could be funnier than friends? pretty much nothing, as Rita Williams-Garcia shows two besties hatching a bird-brained scheme to get on to a TV talk show, and Deborah Underwood introduces a dynamic dog-and-cat duo teaming up on a pet advice column. With clever contributions from award-winning and bestselling authors including Cece Bell, Shannon Hale, Sophie Blackall,  Libba Bray, Lisa Graff, and Raina Telgemeier, this anthology of funny girls will make you laugh until you cry.

Funny Girl: Funniest. Stories. Ever. #ad - . Or cry until you laugh. Funny girl is a collection of uproarious stories, and more, rollicking comics, rib-tickling wit, from 25 of today’s funniest female writers for kids. Graphix. Or maybe you won't cry at all. Girls are funny. Yen Press.

#ad